What are the accepted types of language tests?

For the purpose of meeting the English language requirement for credential programs, students may submit either:

  • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or

  • International English Language Testing System (IELTS) or

  • College English Test (CET) CET-4/CET-6 or

  • Academic English Proficiency Assessment (AEPA)

If unique circumstances limit your ability to complete one of these tests or you have completed a comparable language assessment, please email us at harriscredential@uchicago.edu. We will work with you for an alternative to demonstrate English language proficiency.