CHICAGO – William Howell has been elected as a member of the 2020 class of the prestigious American Academy of Arts & Sciences, founded in 1780 by American pioneers John Adams and John Hancock, among others.

Howell is the Sydney Stein Professor in American Politics at the University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy, a professor in the Department of Political Science, where he serves as chair, and the director of the Center for Effective Government.

Howell has authored numerous books and articles for various media outlets. His notable work on the issues of separation of powers in American government – beginning with Power without Persuasion: The Politics of Direct Presidential Action (2003) – has earned him many academic awards, including the William Riker Award for the Best Book in Political Economy  for The Wartime President (2013, written with Saul P. Jackman and Jon C. Rogowski) and the D.B. Hardeman Prize for the best book on Congress for While Dangers Gather: Congressional Checks on Presidential War Powers (2017, written with Jon C. Pevehouse). Howell’s research has been recognized by the National Science Foundation, the Smith Richardson Foundation, and the Bradley Foundation.

Howell is also the host, with Associate Professor Anthony Fowler and Assistant Professor Wioletta Dziuda, of Not Another Politics Podcast, which has been consistently rated one of the top government podcasts on Apple.

Howell is one of 276 distinguished leaders and scholars in this year’s class of new members to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and one of six from the University of Chicago. Notable new members include former Attorney General Eric Holder and musician Joan Baez.

Other Harris inductees from previous years include Katherine Baicker, dean and Emmett Dedmon Professor at Harris; James Robinson, the Reverend Dr. Richard L. Pearson Professor of Global Conflict and Institute Director of The Pearson Institute for the Study and Resolution of Global Conflicts; and Michael Greenstone, the Milton Payton Professor and director of the Becker Friedman Institute and Energy Policy Institute at the University of Chicago.

The mission of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences is to address and ameliorate issues facing civilization through a wide range of fields, while using the expertise and research of its accomplished members.