Political Economy

The Political Economy Workshop is a forum for theoretical and empirical research at the intersection of economics and political science. The workshop draws presenters from around the world and participants from around the University with a wide range of substantive interests.The Political Economy Workshop meets in Room 140B at Chicago Harris on Thursdays from 12:00-1:20 PM. The faculty organizer is Anthony Fowler.

2016-2017 Workshops

October 13Anne Meng
October 20Uri Simonsohn
October 27Bryony Reich
November 3Micael Castanheira
November 10Giacomo Ponzetto
December 1Thomas Fujiwara
December 9Gabriele Gratton
January 5German Gieczewski
January 12Ruben Enikolopov
January 19Camilo Garcia-Jimeno
February 2Brenton Kenkel
February 23Matias Iaryczower
March 2Mary McGrath
March 9Cyrus Samii
March 30Paul Novosad
April 20Hulya Eraslan
April 27Marcos Rangel
May 4Josh Clinton
May 11Alessandro Lizzeri
May 25Shigeo Hirano


Political Economy Lunch

The Political Economy Lunch meets on the first Friday of every month, and on additional Fridays as needed. The lunch in intended as an informal setting in which graduate students and faculty can present and receive feedback on early stage and ongoing research. We welcome empirical or theoretical work linked in any way to politics or political economy. The PE lunch is also an excellent venue for practice job talks. Graduate students and faculty from any part of the University are welcome to attend, though please contact us in advance if you haven't been a regular.

If you would like to be added to the PE Lunch mailing list, please contact Ethan Bueno de Mesquita at bdm@uchicago.edu.

2016-2017 Workshops

October 7Dan Alexander
October 21Peter Evangelakis
October 28Kai Yang
November 4Milena Ang
November 11Mathieu Cloutier
November 18Christian Salas Pauliac
December 2Alice Hsiaw "Distrust in Experts and the Origins of Disagreement" (with Ing-Haw Cheng)
January 20Peter Buisseret and Richard Van Weelden
January 27Peter Buisseret
February 10Kara Ross Camerena
February 17Monika Nalepa
February 24Congyi Zhou
March 3No meeting
March 10Thiemo Fetzer
March 31Ria Ivandic
April 7Christian Salas
April 14Wioletta Dziuda
April 21Frederica Izzo
April 28Chris Berry and Anthony Fowler
May 5Monika Nalepa
May 12Robert Gulotty
May 19Maria Bastista
May 26Congyi Zhou
June 2Thiemo Fetzer