The University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy will host the third annual conference on Saturday, September 14, 2019. 

This conference promotes research in political economy theory in the Great Lakes region. The University of Western Ontario hosted the inaugural conference in 2017, and Michigan State University hosted in 2018. 

Register here


The University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy
The Keller Center
1307 E. 60th St.
Chicago, IL 60637



8:30am-8:55am: Registration (breakfast provided).

8:55am-9:00am: Welcome

9:00am–9:55am: Tasos Kalandrakis (Rochester), A Priori Bounds on Legislative Bargaining Agreements

9:55am-10:50am: Mehdi Shadmehr (Harris), Dan Bernhardt (UIUC, Warwick) and Stefan Krasa (UIUC), Demagogues and the Instability of Democracy.
Discussant: Leyla Karakas (Syracuse)

10:50am-11:00am: Coffee Break

11:00am-11:55am: Arianna Degan (Quebec) and Braz Camargo (Sao Paulo School of Economics), Accountability and Political Competition.
Discussant: Scott Ashworth (Chicago)

11:55am-12:50pm: Jon Eguia (MSU), Regime Change.
Discussant: Jack Paine (Rochester)

12:50pm-2:15pm: Lunch (in the same location)

2:15pm-3:10pm: Scott Tyson (Rochester), The Liquidity of Allegiance.
Discussant: Davin Raiha (Indiana)

3:10pm-4:05pm: Richard Van Weelden (Pittsburgh), Navin Kartik (Columbia), Andreas Kleiner (Arizona State), Delegation in Veto Bargaining.
Discussant: Wiola Dziuda (Harris)

4:05pm-4:25pm: Coffee Break.

4:25pm-5:20pm: John Duggan (Rochester) and Larry Rothenberg (Rochester), Political Influence and the Social Cost of Pressure Group Competition.
Discussant: John G. Forand (Waterloo).

7:15pm: Dinner (Nella: 1125 E 55th St, Chicago, IL 60615)

Travel & Accommodations:

Conference attendees are responsible for securing their own accommodations and transportation to and from campus. Below is a list of recommended hotels. Be sure to mention The University of Chicago to receive a friends and family discounted rate.

Hyatt Place Hyde Park
5225 S. Harper Avenue
Chicago, IL 60615

Sophy Hyde Park
1411 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615

Marriott Marquis-McCormick Place
2121 S. Prairie Avenue
Chicago, IL 60616

Hilton Hotel-South Loop
720 S. Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605

Papers and Presenters:

  • The Politics of Attention — Anqi Li, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Demagogues and the Instability of Democracy — Mehdi Shadmehr, University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy
  • Accountability and Political Competition — Arianna Degan, University of Quebec at Montreal
  • Regime Change — Jon Eguia, Michigan State University
  • Sowing the Seeds — Scott Tyson, University of Rochester
  • Delegation in Veto Bargaining — Richard Van Weelden, University of Pittsburgh
  • Political Influence and the Social Cost of Pressure Group Competition — John Duggan, University of Rochester